Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Vacation - really?

Why is that you have to work like a mad woman just to get everything ready at work to go on vacation. By the time it gets here, I'm exhausted. When the 5:00 hour chimes on that last day, I just want to get up and say that's it, i'll see you in 9 days. Nope, all I hear is make sure you get everything done before you go and make sure I have the next weeks info all ready for me while your gone and make sure you tell everyone what needs to be done in your place. Good heaven's people.....I want to go on vacation with somewhat of a sound mind. You work late to get it all done and a you do a week's worth of work ahead, but somehow when you come back it's all piled high on your desk with sticky notes everywhere on what someone couldn't find while you were gone!! Plane tickets, hotel reservations, complaint calls, accounts payable....oh the list goes on.

It's been like that for at least the last 21 years so I should just be used to it by now. When I was in the stores, I could just leave my "post" and that was it. I guess the only good thing about it is that my desk is the cleanest you will see it until the next time I have to do the vacation preparedness drill.

Even after 28 years of working and earning 5 weeks vacation, I still have to make sure that I take mine at the least busiest, most opportune moment when no one else will be around and that need my daily care and assistance.

Well, ok, I've griped enough. I am thankful I have a job and have had a job for all this time, but I just want to be able to come and goes as I please, answer to noone and do what I want to do when I want to do it. Someday maybe. For now, I will continue to cater, assist, and be at the place I need to be at the right time!!

Oh come on Thursday at 5:00pm, well maybe 6:30 - 7:00pm that day so I can finally say...see ya people in 9 days!!!!

3 comments:

  1. I love you momm and love reading your snarky post! I am so glad you joined the blog world, it is amazing! oh ps I'll change your font color now for you. :0)

    ReplyDelete
  2. it starts thursday night?? thats awesome!! :) i miss you!!

    ReplyDelete